Organisation

The Agency for Passenger Rights (apf) is the statutory arbitration and enforcement body for rail, bus, air and ship transport.

In the framework of its arbitration activities it is responsible for clarification of passenger complaints, using out-of-court dispute resolution, and helps passengers obtain justice in their disputes. In its function as an enforcement body, apf audits compliance with passenger rights grounded in EU regulations in rail, bus, air and ship transport. The apf is situated as a department under Schienen-Control

A complaint must basically be brought before apf by means of an online complaint form. Should that not be possible for you, you can also transmit your complaint to us, with all necessary enclosures, by post or fax (procedure direktive apf).

Agency for Passenger Rights
Linke Wienzeile 4/1/6
1060 Vienna
Austria
Fax: +43 1 5050707 180

FEDERAL ACT on ALTERNATIVE CONFLICT RESOLUTION

On 9 January 2016, Maria-Theresia Röhsler was appointed independent arbiter under Article 10 paragraph 2 of the federal act on alternative conflict resolution. Maria-Theresia Röhsler, a lawyer, has been serving as Schienen-Control’s managing director since November 2011 and as head of the Agency for Passenger Rights (apf) since May 2015. Before joining Schienen-Control she served as legal advisor in the cabinet of the Austrian Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology.

Maria-Theresia Röhsler was appointed by Schienen-Control’s supervisory board. In her work as arbiter she is without instruction as her decisions are to be reached independently and impartially. In the eventual case of a conflict of interest complaints are transferred to the Arbitration Board for Consumer Businesses.

TRAVEL NET

Travel-Net was established in November 2017. In accordance with Article 16 paragraph 2 of the Directive on alternative dispute resolution for consumer disputes Travel-Net supports the cooperation of national ADR entities (entities offering out-of-court dispute resolution). It also fosters the exchange and dissemination of tried and tested procedures, as well as experiences, relating to travel in general.

Beschwerden und Rechte

Die Agentur für Passagier- und Fahrgastrechte (apf) ist die gesetzliche Schlichtungs- und Durchsetzungsstelle für den Bahn-, Bus-, Schiffs- und Flugverkehr. Im Rahmen ihrer Schlichtungstätigkeit ist sie für die Klärung von Fahrgast- bzw. Passagierbeschwerden mittels außergerichtlicher Streitbeilegung verantwortlich und verhilft Betroffenen im Streitfall mit dem Unternehmen zu ihrem Recht und ihrer Entschädigung. In ihrer Funktion als Durchsetzungsstelle prüft die apf im Bahn-, Bus-, Schiffs- und Flugbereich die Einhaltung der in den EU-Verordnungen verankerten Rechte.

Die Agentur für Passagier- und Fahrgastrechte ist als Abteilung bei der Schienen-Control angesiedelt.

Eine Schlichtungsantrag ist grundsätzlich mittels Online-Formular bei der apf einzubringen. Sollte das für Sie nicht möglich sein, können Sie uns Ihren Schlichtungsantrag mit allen notwendigen Beilagen auch per Post oder Fax übermitteln:

Agentur für Passagier- und Fahrgastrechte
Linke Wienzeile 4/1/6
1060 Wien
Fax: +43 1 5050707 180



Alternative-Streitbeilegung-Gesetz (AStG)

Gemäß § 10 Abs. 2 AStG ist Mag. Maria-Theresia Röhsler, LL.M., MBA, mit 9. Jänner 2016 zur unabhängigen Schlichterin bestellt worden. Maria-Theresia Röhsler ist Juristin, seit November 2011 Geschäftsführerin der Schienen-Control und seit Mai 2015 Leiterin der apf. Zuvor arbeitete sie als Juristin im Kabinett des Verkehrsministeriums. Die Bestellung erfolgte durch den Aufsichtsrat der Schienen-Control.

Die Schlichterin ist in Ausübung ihrer Tätigkeit an keine Weisungen gebunden, da ihre Entscheidungen unparteiisch und unabhängig getroffen werden. Im Falle von eventuellen Interessenkonflikten wird die Behandlung des Schlichtungsantrags an die Schlichtung für Verbrauchergeschäfte übertragen.

TRAVEL NET

Travel-Net wurde im November 2017 gegründet und soll gemäß Art. 16 Abs 2 RL über alternative Streitbeilegung in Verbraucherangelegenheiten die Vernetzung nationaler AS-Stellen (Stellen zur außergerichtlichen Streitbeilegung) sowie den Austausch und die Verbreitung von bewährten Verfahren und Erfahrungen rund um die Thematik „Reisen“ unterstützen. Insgesamt sind derzeit 19 Länder und 29 AS-Stellen aktive Mitglieder von Travel Net. (Stand Jänner 2019)